A Very Versatile Vote of Thanks

Posted on Updated on

I have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award, not once, but twice!  I’m surprised and humbled by this award–and now that I’ve finally figured out what the rules are, I think it’s high time I follow them.

The super-cool writing ladies who nominated me are:

Hannah Williams of Becoming His Eve, a thoughtful, convicting blog encouraging ladies to have Godly marital and dating relationships.

Verna Bowman, whose blog never fails to inspire me and draw me closer to Christ, even though I’m not really a devotional-devotee.

My Job Now

-nominate 10-15 bloggers who are relatively new to blogging or whose blogs you enjoy most (and clue them in on the honor)

-share random facts (never a hardship for me)

Shout-Out To:

Sarah Sawyer - http://www.sarahsawyer.com/

Domestic Warrior Goddess - http://domesticwarriorgoddess.wordpress.com/

Ashling Flaherty - http://thethreersalmost.blogspot.com/

Elana’s Pantry - http://www.elanaspantry.com/

Pleasing Pain – http://adampowers.wordpress.com/

Journey Towards Maturity – http://www.journeytowardsmaturity.com/blog/

And…

Okay, I’m having a brain freeze, and I recently switched laptops, causing me to lose a ton of awesome blog links.  If you have a great blog, post the link here, I’ll check it out, and then I’ll nominate you as well!

7 Not-So-Deadly Facts About Me

1.) I must put a period and a parenthesis after the numbers in a numbered list.  If I forget the parenthesis, it will bother me enough that 99% of the time I’ll have to go back and add it later.

2.) Between the ages of 1-12 I attended four different schools and two different home-school co-ops.

3.) I love birds, especially cockatiels, and planned to be an ornithologist until I realized I’d rather own pet birds rather than study them.

Borrowed from Parrot Training School.

4.) I do not currently own a pet bird, but it is a future goal.

5.) One of my longstanding favorite book series is Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series, mostly because I love the descriptions of food, Christmas presents, and locations.

6.) I dressed up in costume and stood in a long line to see the midnight showings of The Two Towers and The Return of the King.  I plan to do the same for The Hobbit.

7.) My husband and I met on the field of battle playing an unofficial version of  Dagorhir at Geneva College.  We still have a closet full of weapons and supplies that we use to teach a kid-safe, God-honoring version.

9 thoughts on “A Very Versatile Vote of Thanks

    Adam's Eve said:
    June 6, 2012 at 2:55 am

    I love Little House too for many of the same reasons. The food descriptions always made me hungry, and I loved the simple family time the Ingalls shared. I totally want to reread that series.

    My family has had 2 cockatiels. The second one that we have currently (my family, not me) is named Mr. Chloe because Mom thought it was a female for the first six months until she took it to the vet and the vet checked. But since he only responds to Chloe (we tried other more masculine sounding names) he has become Mr. Chloe. He chirps in the morning incessantly until Mom uncovers his cage and he’s very quiet until Mom gets home from work and he chirps incessantly again. He also loves following my finger when I run it along the outside of the cage and squeaking every couple of seconds. It’s his favorite game. I love and miss that bird.

      Janeen Ippolito responded:
      June 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

      Cockatiels are awesome! Thanks for sharing about Mr. Chloe.

        Adam's Eve said:
        June 20, 2012 at 2:58 am

        You’re welcome!

    Sarah M. said:
    June 6, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    Little House is in my top 5 favorite book series. I was putting book plates in a number of my books last week, and ended up sitting down to read “These Happy Golden Years.”

    Congratulations on being nominated!

      Janeen Ippolito responded:
      June 19, 2012 at 6:49 pm

      Thanks! Yes, Little House books tend to do that to me as well.

    Maria Tatham said:
    June 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Congratulations, Janeen!
    Love cockatiels, and other birds, too. Zany creatures.

    mcmbud@yahoo.com said:
    June 6, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    Congratulations, Janeen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!If you want a bird, We’ve got two here at home that I’d love to give you. Ha! Ha!

      Janeen Ippolito responded:
      June 19, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Thanks! I’d love to, but I think they already have an owner..

Leave a Reply

