Author Interview – Rachel Starr Thomson of “Worlds Unseen”

Posted on Updated on

A few weeks I reviewed a work of Christian called Worlds Unseen.  This week, author Rachel Starr Thomson has take a break from her busy days of writing and dancing as a member of Soli Deo Gloria ballet to answer a few interview questions.  So, without further ado, may I introduce Rachel Starr Thomson:

1. What inspired you to write this book?

Worlds Unseen came together from a lot of different story lines and characters I had kicking around in my head for a while. One of the ideas was to set the Reformation in another world and see what happened. There were also a few things going on in my life that sparked some inspiration, and the next thing I knew I was writing a book.

2. How did you come up with the title?

No idea. Most of my titles just happen. I hate having to work at coming up with a title, actually—that always results in the title feeling forced.

3. What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

I had a couple of false starts while trying to figure out what kind of setting the Seventh World really was, but after that it was smooth sailing.

4. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Worlds Unseen?

Yes, actually, but not because I’m unhappy with it—just because some readers are. I’ve had a lot of people say that one of the relationships in the story wasn’t fleshed out enough and didn’t work for them. That’s a fair criticism, so if I was rewriting Worlds, I’d address that. But I try not to do too much rewriting of old stories. I’d rather concentrate on new work and keep improving that way.

5. What are your current projects?

I’m currently working on getting a lot of my old work published for the first time. The last two months have seen e-book releases for my novels Taerith, Angel in the Woods, and Lady Moon, along with the short stories Fallen Star, Ogres Is, Butterflies Dancing, and Magdalene. There are more short stories coming, along with a nonfiction book (Letters to a Samuel Generation: The Collection) and a short story collection (untitled as of yet). If I can pull together the budget for it, I hope to get everything out in paperback by the fall. On the writing front, I’m working on some short stories and kicking around a few novel ideas. My goal is to have two more books written by the end of this year.

6. What books have most influenced your life most?

The Bible (on more levels than one—I’m a Christian and try to live by the Book, but it’s also the single biggest influence on all of English literature, and it’s had a lot of effect on me that way too), the fantasy novels I read as a kid (C.S. Lewis, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L’Engle, others), the non-fantasy novels of George MacDonald, Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek. And poets.

7. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I just discovered Lars Walker, though he’s not exactly new. Jeffrey Overstreet’s Auralia Thread is my favorite fantasy series of the last ten years.

8. What book are you reading now?

C.S. Lakin’s The Unraveling of Wentwater and Ray Bradbury’s Dandelion Wine.

And a few goofy ones:

1. Have you ever fallen asleep on your keyboard?

No, but I’ve come close.

2. What is your (fantasy or science fiction) name?

Who needs one when your real middle name is “Starr”?

3. What is your quest (ultimate goal)?

I know this is supposed to be a goofy question, but I don’t have a goofy answer for it: to bring people into contact with the glory of Jesus Christ.

4. What is your favorite color (be specific)?

Blue. Most any shade, so I can’t be more specific than that.

_______________

There you have it!  Much thanks again to Rachel Starr Thomson for graciously giving of her time.

If you’re intrigued, have a look at Ms. Thomson’s website here.

Leave a Reply

